Working document · certificate of analysis

Read a COA.

The jar tells you what the brand wants you to think. The certificate tells you what a laboratory measured, once, in one batch, on one date. Most buyers never open it, and most of the tricks in this trade live in the gap between the two. Below is a specimen certificate laid out like the real thing. Open any line and it explains itself: what the line means, what to check, and how it gets abused.

The specimen

One page, every line a question.

Two specimens: the finished tincture a buyer sees, and the raw isolate a formulator receives. Select a line to open its note. The total-THC line shows its working: Δ9-THC plus 0.877 times THCA, the factor the site states on the THCA page, with both readings printed beneath it. No limits are printed anywhere, because limits vary by jurisdiction and the site holds none. The total-THC working, row by row has a page of its own.

A tincture certificate: mg/g, a cannabinoid panel, a total-THC line.

SPECIMEN: a teaching example, not a real laboratory or product

Specimen Analytical (fictional)

Certificate of Analysis

Example CBG tincture, batch SPEC-0001 · issued 2026-09-23 (specimen)

1 · Sample and batch identification

  • Specimen Analytical (fictional) · address and contact line
  • Example Botanicals (fictional)
  • Example CBG tincture, 30 mL, oral (specimen)
  • SPEC-0001
  • SA-26-0923-01 (specimen)
  • Oil, oral tincture
  • 2026-09-16 / 2026-09-19 / 2026-09-23 (specimen)
  • Cannabinoids by liquid chromatography (specimen); contaminant methods listed per panel
  • mg/g (mass of analyte per gram of product) · density not stated

2 · Cannabinoid panel

AnalyteResult (mg/g)
1.80.10
25.00.10
ND0.10
2.40.10
0.60.10
0.40.10
<LOQ0.10
0.90.10
0.930.4 + (0.877 × 0.6) = 0.4 + 0.53 = 0.93 mg/g
Δ9-only 0.4 mg/g · total-THC 0.93 mg/g · which applies depends on jurisdiction

ND: not detected at the method’s limit. <LOQ: detected, below the limit of quantitation. Total THC = Δ9-THC + 0.877 × THCA; the working is printed on the line, and both readings are printed beneath it because which one applies depends on jurisdiction.

Reconcile the label to the certificate

mg per serving25 mg/g × 1 g = 25 mg per serving

Label reconciliation only: the figure a label should print for the serving it declares, from the certificate's own concentration. It says nothing about how much anyone should take. The units have to match: a certificate in mg/g needs a serving weighed in grams, and a certificate in mg/mL needs one measured in millilitres. Converting between the two takes the density, which this specimen does not state.

3 · Contaminants

  • pass · see method
  • ND · see method
  • pass · see method
  • pass · see method

No limits are printed on this specimen because the site holds none. A real certificate names the specification it tested against; limits vary by jurisdiction and product class.

4 · Accreditation and signature

  • Not asserted for this specimen. A real certificate names its accrediting body, the standard it was assessed against (commonly ISO/IEC 17025) and a certificate number.
  • Name withheld (specimen) · Laboratory Director · 2026-09-23

Every number on this specimen is invented to teach the layout of a certificate. It describes no real product, laboratory, batch or result, and no value on it should be compared with a real one.

For the bench

Twelve flags on an incoming COA.

The hotspots above, condensed to one screen. Each flag names the line it comes from. Open the printable version to keep it beside the instrument.

  1. 1
    No laboratory named, or the brand is the laboratory

    A certificate needs an independent lab with an address you can reach. The brand testing itself is a claim, not a result.

  2. 2
    No batch or lot number

    A COA is a statement about one batch. Without the number it describes nothing you can hold.

  3. 3
    The matrix is not the product

    Extract tested, tincture sold. The numbers describe a drum, not a bottle.

  4. 4
    One old test date for every batch since

    Acids convert and neutrals oxidise, so a panel drifts. Ask for a date you would accept as recent, per batch.

  5. 5
    Units that cannot be reconciled to the label

    mg/g on a liquid with no density, or a label in mg/mL against a certificate in mg/g. Ask for the density or a matching unit.

  6. 6
    ND or <LOQ with no limit printed

    Not detected against an unstated limit says very little. The LOQ column is the substance of every ND.

  7. 7
    Acid and neutral folded into one headline number

    Total CBG that adds CBGA without saying so. Ask which figure the label counts.

  8. 8
    Only Δ9-THC on the THC line

    Total THC is Δ9-THC plus 0.877 × THCA. A certificate that lists only Δ9 never writes the total down.

  9. 9
    Assay in area-percent presented as % w/w

    A ratio of chromatogram peaks is not a mass. Ask for the assay against a reference standard, by weight.

  10. 10
    No impurity table on an isolate

    A 98.6% assay with nothing named for the rest leaves the remainder unexplained.

  11. 11
    A solvents panel from the wrong process

    Solvents the supplier never used, all clean; the one they did use, absent. Ask which solvents the process ran on.

  12. 12
    Pass with no specification, and no signature

    Pass has to say pass against what, and someone has to put their name to it. An unsigned PDF is a PDF.

Same batch, two dates (illustrative)

Illustrative
One specimen batch tested on two dates, illustrative values in mg/g
Analytetested 2026-03-04 (specimen)tested 2026-09-19 (specimen)Direction
THCA0.90.6down
Δ9-THC0.20.4up
CBN<LOQ0.2appears

Illustrative values on a specimen batch. The directions are the chemistry: heat and time convert THCA toward Δ9-THC, and Δ9-THC oxidises toward CBN. The sizes are invented, and nothing here states a rate or a shelf life. A certificate describes the product on its test date and on that date alone. The chemistry behind each direction is modelled on Heat, time and light.

Before you buy or stock

Three things to demand from any COA.

The same three checks the consumer guide asks for. They do most of the work.

01

Published per batch

A certificate of analysis for each batch, one you can actually open and read, with the full cannabinoid breakdown and a contaminant panel. If the seller cannot produce it, move on.

02

Milligrams per serving

CBG stated up front in milligrams per serving, and reconcilable to the panel. The words "proprietary blend" are where the number you needed goes to hide.

03

No disease claims

A reliable seller describes what is in the jar and leaves disease out of it. Any talk of effects stays conditional.

For an incoming isolate lot

Three more, for the raw material.

The isolate specimen adds three documents to demand. The third is the stability report behind the retest date; what it has to contain is set out on the formulator page.

01

Assay by weight, with the remainder named

Percent by weight against a reference standard, an impurity table with a limit per named compound, and a water figure, so the mass balance can be read.

02

A solvents panel that matches the process

Ask which solvents the extraction and crystallisation used, then read the panel for those. A clean panel of the wrong solvents is a clean panel of nothing.

03

A retest date with a stability report behind it

A retest or expiry date, and the report that justifies it: storage conditions, timepoints, method and what was monitored. A date without a report is a guess with a calendar.

Informational only

Informational only, not medical or legal advice; regulations vary by jurisdiction. Every number on this specimen is invented to teach the layout of a certificate. It describes no real product, laboratory, batch or result, and no value on it should be compared with a real one. To test the words on a label against the evidence ladder, use the Label Lab; to see how the site grades a claim, read how we grade. Report a safety event.